G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I'm pretty new to this - I'm looking to put together a track setup around my tree this year with some old LGB trains I found from when I was younger. I don't have the track anymore and am currently searching everywhere for a set that makes up a circle 36" or less since my space is limited. I have looked into flex track but I don't want to invest in a rail bender only for this project. It would be great to get something pre-assembled. I know HLW and Aristo Craft had once made smaller radiuses but there is nothing to be found online. I've been searching ebay for the Aristocraft ART-11140 (21" diameter circle) and ART-11145 (32" diameter circle) with no luck yet. If anyone has any recommendations or knows anyone doing custom rail to order please let me know. Thanks for any suggestions!

·
Super Modulator
20,576 Posts
JP, find your local club, and see if they have a bender to loan, then bend up some brass rail.

Yes, those custom small circles are very hard to come by, I have both the Aristo sizes and fend off offers to sell them several times a year!

Greg

·
Registered
36 Posts
I have a circle of Bertram Heyn's R0 track. It works out to about 32" diameter. It is NOT cheap, but at least it is available. As I recall the 16% VAT gets subtracted from the cost and I am not sure if you can get things shipped from the EU right now. I found his rustic looking ties to be very brittle, ended up replacing all of them the LGB flex track ties.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
JP, find your local club, and see if they have a bender to loan, then bend up some brass rail.

Yes, those custom small circles are very hard to come by, I have both the Aristo sizes and fend off offers to sell them several times a year!

Greg
Thanks for the reply. I'll have to check that out.