G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,334 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone down loaded any of the programs declairing fix it for INTERNET EXPLORER 7 ?

I have a problem when I have two screens open and I switch between the two My screen goes blank ( BLACK) and my computer freezed.

The green power light is still lit on the front.

Pushing the re boot button does nothing.

I have to turn power off till the green power light fades then I can turn it on and reboot. Everything is fine.

This seems to happen only when on line.

It only seems to happen when I am multi tasking.


Has anyone used any of these fixit down loads?

Suggestions?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,579 Posts
Go back to IE 6.

Be advised:
MS invented IE7 for you to download, and they are what, the only company ever to offer a "patch" to KEEP their latest invention from loading on your computer!?!?!?

Ever wonder "why"?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,334 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
If you Google "INTERNET EXPLORER" you get several "FIX" programs that can be down loaded.

I am having a shut down problem when I mimamize some screens. Also when I have two or more screens open and I switch between them My computer shuts show as mentioned above.
 

·
Super Modulator
Joined
·
20,736 Posts
JJ, the "two screens" open: are they both IE7 browser screens, or are they any 2 windows programs?

Try doing all the windows updates. If you do not like IE7, just uninstall it.

After that decision, run all the windows updates from microsoft.

Then email me, I'll turn you on to the best fixit programs I have found that are free.

Regards, Greg
 

·
Super Modulator
Joined
·
20,736 Posts
I think it's only on AMD systems, and only on some. What I found that sp3 tries to load the wrong APCI (I think that's the right acronym), loading one for an Intel processor. There's a patch on the site to make it so this does not happen.

Most of my experience is with non-amd, but for the few AMD laptops we have, no problems with SP3.

I'm wondering if a good clean will help things.

Regards, Greg
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,334 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I blow the case out about every two weeks with caned air.

It only happens in Internet explorer.

It happens if I change between screens or Minamize one.

Also I have trouble getting out of IE> Some times I have to go to Task Manager and force scree to close.
 

·
Old Senior Member
Joined
·
1,456 Posts
John J...... Now sure what you have in your computer and the upgrades but I did what Dwight posted... I keep getting all kinds of weird things happing.
Didn't know what was the problem on getting more that one browser up. Also, my media (videos) on some would not play after upgrade to media 11 and had problem loading...
SP3 was auto uploaded a few months ago. and I guess that when things started to slow down and mess up..
Kind of like it keep building up problems as I didn't look for them to be a problem..

I went and un-installed SP3 upgrade for win.xp Like Dwight suggested and boy then all kinds of things happened again...

I couldn't get my screen size to back or the color bit more the 4 bit. Could not change the screen size in my computer tab.. keep going back to 4 bit after I tried to change it size.. Couldn't get to any programs do to I couldn't see them..

Findlay got disgusted and put in the Win xp CD and re-install the darn thing. It took 30 min. or more to run the Win xp, but it took out most of all the upgrades and my media back to media 9 .. I didn't lose any of my programs or photos I had on the hard drive.

BOY. I Fig . What did I do it now and computer was going bonkerrrrrrrrrrrrssssssssssssssss....

But I got the computer back to org. and didn't lose any thing and photo I had on the hard dr.
Now every thing runs great and media videos work now. computer is much fast now to..

So I dumped my restore files and got back almost 2 gigs of space back on my 10 gig hard dr. Now back to about 4 gigs of space. WoW. I know that not much of hard dr. space but I use a lot of Flash dr's for extra space.. being my computer can't count more that 30 gigs on motherboard. laf. So hard to find a 15 or 20 gig extra dr.for it now.

Try it John J.... It may be your SP3 messing you up... It sure did my Gateway 500.
And tks again for the advise Dwight on posting this.. And I can live with SP2.
Noel
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,334 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
I posted a qeustion here with problem and many of you tried to help

I thought you might want to know what happeded and What I found pluse what Idid to fix it.

The Problem was the POWER SUPPLY.

I got the computer running and I was doing some work on it. I kept hearing this growling noise.

I went behind my desk and the noise was coming from my PC tower.

The fan in the power supply was not turning. The case was hot as ****.

I just happened to have a power supply from another tower.

I replaced the power supply and the computer has been runing for a week with no problems.

Thank you all for your help and suggestions
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,896 Posts
Posted By John J on 11/30/2008 5:15 AM
I blow the case out about every two weeks with caned air.

It only happens in Internet explorer.

It happens if I change between screens or Minamize one.

Also I have trouble getting out of IE> Some times I have to go to Task Manager and force scree to close.





John,
it seems to me the solution to all your IE troubles is very simple and obvious..
stop using IE! ;)


Firefox Firefox Firefox..
and oh yeah..Firefox..


Scot

p.s...Firefox
 

·
Super Modulator
Joined
·
20,736 Posts
It does also teach a lesson... that it had to be happening no matter what was running, so JJ must of been in IE most of the time.

Next time, just leave the computer idling, nothing running... then JJ would have found it locked up with nothing running.

Then the suggestions would have gone in the right direction. Part of getting a good answer is getting good info to work with.

The next time, I hope no one is insulted when some statements are questioned.

Regards, Greg
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,393 Posts
John
Glad to hear you've resolved the problem that you were encountering.

I always find it amusing when reading about which browser is the most perfect. As yet I haven't found any browser that even comes close to that. As evidenced by looking at the support forums for each of the respective browsers, they all have their problems.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,716 Posts
I got tired of IE7 encountering errors and having to close. A friend suggested Firefox or Opera. I chose randomly and am now using Opera. It's free. A few web sites produce warnings that I have an unsupported browser and may not work, but once I dismiss the warning, they have worked fine. I haven't compared with Firefox or Chrome.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
436 Posts
I currently use, run and prefer both Firefox, and IE7 and occasionally use both Opera and Safari, mainly for testing web pages, I've tried Chome and the it worked OK, but I did not care for the “feel” of Chrome........
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,334 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
Posted By Greg Elmassian on 01/28/2009 8:57 PM
It does also teach a lesson... that it had to be happening no matter what was running, so JJ must of been in IE most of the time.

Next time, just leave the computer idling, nothing running... then JJ would have found it locked up with nothing running.

Then the suggestions would have gone in the right direction. Part of getting a good answer is getting good info to work with.

The next time, I hope no one is insulted when some statements are questioned.

Regards, Greg

I forgot something. It did stat happening with the computer just sitting there. but verry infrequent.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,393 Posts
Posted By Dean Whipple on 01/29/2009 7:46 AM
I currently use, run and prefer both Firefox, and IE7 and occasionally use both Opera and Safari, mainly for testing web pages, I've tried Chome and the it worked OK, but I did not care for the “feel” of Chrome........
Dean

Just as you've stated, I've got the current versions of IE7, FireFox, Opera, & Safari installed on my system, and have tried many other off-brand so to speak browsers just to see what is/was out there.

Mostly I've always used MS/IE, I make no claim that MS/IE is perfect I've encountered problems just like most others have, but I've also encountered just as many problems with the other browsers mentioned too. Its just always amused me when someone posts something disparaging regarding a particular browser and follows that up with saying if one would just switch to Flavor-X all the problems will be solved. Hey, I'm just as interested in finding the perfect browser as anyone else is, but when you go look at the support forum for the current Flavor-X you find just as many unhappy individuals voicing their displeasure regarding that product.
 

·
Super Modulator
Joined
·
20,736 Posts
It's par for the course JJ!

I had a friend come over last night with a very similar problem... "always dies when installing flash player"... turns out the computer was crashing so often, that after rebooting, it kept trying to finish the install of the flash player.

Turns out it was a bad video card! I brought the computer up into the CMOS setup screen (nowhere near even booting windows) and it crashed there!

Computers are no longer simple to debug, and I'm afraid it's going to get more complex before someone finally takes a shotgun to them! (And I won't blame him a bit!)..

Regards, Greg
 
1 - 20 of 20 Posts
Top