G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
263 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
               I'm looking for photos of railroad tankcars being used to prevent fires along the right of way. Or woodland. I saw such a car on a Colorado tourist line. Looking for any similar info...Thanks

·
Premium Member
4,716 Posts
You mean this one?

·
Registered
91 Posts
As a firefighter I can say you need a tank car that either has a pump on it, or you need to have a pump on a flat car. You wil need hose.... a bunch, and a portable pump or two to get water from the local creek. Throw in nozzles and manpower and you have most of what is needed. I would go with a steam driven pump if I had a steamer, but a diesel would be better as you could push the car out and then return to get more men, supplies, or another tank.

Just a quick one but with 33 years of fighing fires..... and many of them large scale woods fires I have seen many tankers.... rail... road... and portable... plus some tanker aircraft.

Art

·
Premium Member
383 Posts
Here's a link to an oldie...
(sorry, link didn't work...)
Not sure if that's what you're looking for, but it's a start...

·
Registered
14 Posts
Here are 3 photos I have.  The first two are from the Cumbres and Toltec Railway and the last one is from the Don River Railway in Tasmania, Australia.

I hope this helps.

·
Premium Member
263 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks all,
I'm thinking of using a cut down ,single dome tank car. I need to find a model of a pump/ or gasoline engine of some sort. I want to incorporate some type of spraying arm. As well as outfitting it with some hand lines to chase fires that may extend off the right of way. Not crazy about putting ladders or walkways atop it. (I need my employees to stay healthy .) Still looking for the pump mechanism, so if you see a link to one let me know. Thanks for all the good ideas..

·
Premium Member
4,716 Posts