G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Premium Member
1,086 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a year away from actually acting on my plans for some outdoor railroading (guess why I don't call it "Garden" Railroading). At this point, I'm leaning toward Aristocraft units, brass rail, battery power and CSS remote control. Not sure about sound at this point.

I've read comments about the distance that CSS is effective for. Since I plan to, at least eventually, have a mainline running most of the way around my 3/4 acre homestead with main operator station at the (rail)yard at the rear of the house, I expect I'll lose control of an engine that's passing by the front of the house.

Thus, my question: has anyone tried an external antenna to get extra range from the unit? As a licensed amateur radio operator (here come the HAM jokes) I have lots of experience installing antennas on rooftops. That sounds like a good solution to the problem, at least for me.

I realize that's a year or two down the road, but I'm trying to plan for the "big picture".

Comments would be appreciated. Guffaws accepted.

jack

· Premium Member
1,086 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Sorry I added to the confusion. I meant RCS, not CCS or CSS or whatever else I may have typed in.

Since my plan is for a long-distance railroad that circles the house, a roof antenna would eliminate the house as signal-blocker so I can maintain control of a train at the other end of the area. I also hope to install a color TV transmitter in the engineer's seat and I'll need a central receiving antenna because the transmitter is only good for about 300 feet of open space. My amateur radio license would allow me to add a power amp, but improving reception of the weak signal would be preferred.