G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
926 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I admit it: I own several Bachmann figures including the goofy-looking handcar operator with the articulated arms. You know, the guy with the brown derby. Anyway, I'm looking at the photo of Bob Brown's garden railway on the cover of the latest GR and who do I see lurking in the background? The brown derby guy. Now I can see me using this dude, 'cause I'm just a schlub modeler. But on this layout? On the cover? C'mon, master modelers. With all the great figures out there, why use the Bachmann dude? Or is there a conspiracy at work here? :)

·
Registered
2,500 Posts
Because he was already in the junkbox? It's often easier (and MUCH cheaper) to adapt and/or re-use what you HAVE on hand than spend hours searching for or making a nicer one. I have 3 B'mann figures that I remember, about 8 of those boring ones that came with LGB the sets, and even one of those stoned looking Aristo engineer fellows on my very small layout. Cut away some details, add others, re-pose, or even do a Frankenstein and cut 3 up to make 2 that look different, then repaint....

·
Premium Member
2,007 Posts
Don't point the finger at me! I make all my own and purchase the Supply line and Fine folks figures religously :)

·
Premium Member
4,716 Posts
I have a couple Bachmen somewhere in a box. Like R, I make mine. Unlike R, mine aren't high art

·
Premium Member
451 Posts
I think you'll find that since there was never an exact prototype of "artiulated handcar operator, male" built, that your comments will be taken as "Bashing" if they don't talk about how splendiferous it is. Be prepared for a firestorm....

In their defense, though, those do make excellent "doorway testers" if you don't want to risk scratching up one of your good figures (Like Richard makes....)

Matthew (OV)

·
Premium Member
926 Posts
Discussion Starter #6