G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am new to the hobby (in fact havent started yet) - but I am planning a live steam layout in my garden based on "Durango & Silverton" as I have fallen in love with Accucraft's K36... but that costs A LOT around here. Can any of you knowledgable enthusiasts out there tell me which other locomotives have run that line since its opening in (1882?). I am aiming for a pre ww2 look and I am also unsure what sort of rolling stock (Accucraft) would be appropriate to go with the locomotive - be as specific as you can - down to numbers, colours and waggon types.... I am not a scale-freak - but I might as well buy the right stuff from the beginning.... since it is not exactly a "cheap" hobby I am venturing into :). I am not new to steam, but have decided to unload my collection of stationary steam engines to pay for this "adventure" - and I want to be sure that I dont buy stuff that never got near the Durango and Silverton line.

Your information and opinion will be highly appreciated. I will be constructing a slightly elevated track 1,5-2ft and run on code 250 or 332 brass. Any thoughts on that?

Thks in advance for your input!

·
Premium Member
4,235 Posts
Most if not all of the Accucraft D&RG "C" and "K" engines would have run on that track at one time or another since the 1880s. All of the Accucraft D&RGW rolling stock in 1:20.3, both freight and passenger would have made the run. Bachmann in their Spectrum line also has some suitable cars. If you are into building kits, Phil's Narrow Gauge has a variety of cars to choose from. I have made one of his kits and it turned out very nicely, if I do say so myself.

Phil's Narrow Gauge

The Ghost Depot web site has a lot of information on the D&RGW. You will need to buy his DVD to get all of his information, but there is still a lot of useful info on the web site.

Ghost Depot

There is also the Colorado Railroad Museum.