G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,602 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm building an oil bunker for my tender, and trying out a common technique that I've never used before. Namely, inserting small brads to represent rivets.

Trouble is, even at the slowest speed, my Dremel melts the plastic, which ends up making the holes much wider than the drillbit. Plus I have to keep stopping and scraping the gunk off the bit. I can put the bit in a pin vise and that works fine but is way, way, too slow!

So how do you drill a bazillion tiny holes in styrene without melting the plastic or going crazy?

·
Registered
751 Posts
I would also recommend the use of "wood bit" rather than the common metal piercing drill. The outer cutters stop the ABS from cracking. and personally I use a wheel brace as it is very slow, with practicaly no torque and you can "feel" the hole as it is cut.

regards

ralph

·
Registered
19 Posts
I've found the best way to be a pin vise.  It's time consuming, I know,  but I seem to get good results.  I use a ratchet type pin vise that makes it go a little faster, but it still takes time.  Just find a good show on tv, sit back and drill.  
Dan

·
Premium Member
6,042 Posts
I use a Foredom Flexshaft; with a number 30 hand piece.
All the Dremel tool bits are copies of this system and will work in the Foredom, cutters, grinders, burrs and even small polishing wheels

Variable speed, foot controlled Foredom flex shaft, other than an occassional new flex shaft and motor brushes...30 years of service! Worth every penny. Excellent Jacobs chuck that can hold bits as small as # 70 (0.028"). Can also hold a pinvise with an 1/8 inch shank for even smaller bits.
Yes they are more expensive, but considering how much we pay for 'toys' it is easier to justify. Specially with better results. The foot control gives you your hands back!