G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,696 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm a newbie. I was on the chat board for a bit last night right after signing up, and this seems to be a very friendly place. Please let me introduce myself: I am a retired XP tool and die maker gathering bits 'n pieces to build an indoor G gauge (45mm) PP SL in 1/20.3 scale. The era will be pre-1900. I was forced to choose indoor for health reasons; I chose the pre-1900 era because I think it will be challenging to research and scratchbuild. I will use wood and metal 'strap rail'. I do have a good bit of avionics experience, but I'm rather dated. I know how to solder, troubleshoot circuits, use test equipment, and the like.

Having looked at the commercial train controllers, I have concluded that they are far more than I need. And they are expensive. I am investigating the possibilities of building my own, as my layout size (40 x 20ft) precludes running more than one train at a time, which I don't want to do anyway.

While surfing the web collecting circuits, I've run across the use of a TV remote (TX) to control receiving circuits (RX).

At the moment I have a circuit that will control both speed, direction and momentum. It uses a switch, which I want to replace with a receiver and decoder circuit. I'm prepared to build it if I can't come up with a complete unit and use a soft switch while figuring out how to go remote.

A TV remote is not the only means, just the one that I think will be easiest. A handheld transmitter such as is used with the Bachmann Big Hauler would probably do, or one from a robot, as distances will be short and speeds slow. MU'ing is not likely.