G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
169 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm looking for suggestions on what size LED lights to use and how exactly to wire them... Meaning what diode to use.

eBay has a seller selling 5mm lights. That seems to be a good size...

I could care less if they're directional, as far as I'm concerned they can come on when the cab light comes on.

I use track power.

I'm not an electronics expert but I'm also not a complete noobie either. lol

Thanks in advance!
Jonathan

·
Premium Member
169 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Here's some info on the lights I'm considering...

Brand: Everest.
Size: 5mm Led, The wire about 30cm(L).<LI style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt">
Forward voltage:12V~18V(1000 Ohm resistor in series), AC or DC Compatible.
Forward current (typ/max): 20mA/30mA.
Light Color: Warm White.<LI style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt">
Package Included: 20 Pre-Wired leds.
Not too clear on these specs:​
Forward voltage:12V~18V(1000 Ohm resistor in series), AC or DC Compatible.
Forward current (typ/max): 20mA/30mA.
Think they'll work?​

·
Registered
694 Posts
Jonathan-

Are you looking to have the ditch lights on top of the walkway or below?What is your track power rated at?

5 mm is a pretty big LED. How comfortable with a soldering iron are you? I use 0603 warm white LED's I purchased off of eBay. Very small and fit into places very well. Use magnet wire for hookup with the small LED's.

Here's a link to a thread I started with a SD40-2 I'm working on. http://forums.mylargescale.com/15-model-making/43890-latest-project-upgrading-usat-sd40-2-a-2.html Post number 11 has info on the LED's I used. There's also a link to my Flickr page that has a video of the LED's in action. The 0603 LED's were used in the beacon, ditch lights, and step lights. The LED's from DigiKey I mentioned are part number CLM3C-MKW-CWAXB233CT-ND hookup wire for these can be 30 AWG.

·
Premium Member
169 Posts
Discussion Starter #5