G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Before I start posting, I guess I should introduce myself.

I have just started to get into G-Scale for my son. (yeah, right...) We just bought an Aristo-Craft 040 Starter set over Christmas and it is currently sitting on the back lawn. I hope to add things in the future, but my son has fun making his own buildings and things out of cardboard. I have some space for a semi-permanent layout so as soon as things get leveled it will be moved.

I am an electrical engineer, so I am not afraid of a soldering iron, but I usually plan my projects carefully (i.e., it takes me a long time to get to them...).

I really appreciate all the information here and hope to be a good neighbor.

·
Registered
350 Posts
Your son has the right idea, if building your own structures pleases you then you are way ahead of the game. Why don't you get a used engine and take the top off of it so he can build his own engine? Or get some flat cars and let him build his own cars?

By the way, welcome and happy railroading.

·
Premium Member
4,716 Posts
Pleased to meet you!

You've been greeted by the brat. Nothing worse can happen to you here

but my son has fun making his own buildings and things out of cardboard

The two of you are off to a great start!

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yeah, I am thinking of getting him some of the HLW minis since his idea of railroad operations includes moving dirt from place to place! (He is 9, BTW).

We had a big cardboard box from a BBQ I had bought recently (It is BBQ weather here right now! Hee, Hee!) and he made that into a station he can crawl into himself. He even put a little schedule board inside to keep track of arrivals and departures.

Thanks for the welcome!

Keith.

·
A Steamed Elder
3,857 Posts
Keith,

There are quite a few of us here on this site in the So Cal area. Pretty close group. Welcome.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #7