G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thanks for stopping by to help a newbie here (if possible). I have a pair of MTH Dash-8 locos controlled via DCS android app on LGB brass track via the following components (with 10/10 signal at all times):

Z-1000 PSU: 40-1000A | MTH ELECTRIC TRAINS (18VAC @ <5.5 A)
TIU + Wifi DCS: 50-1036 | MTH ELECTRIC TRAINS
2x PS3 Locos: 70-2123-1 | MTH ELECTRIC TRAINS & 70-2124-1 | MTH ELECTRIC TRAINS

The issue I'm having is that each locomotive runs at different sMPH. I specifically purchased this pair to run in a consist, but if each locomotive is working against each other to maintain its own speed, inevitably this will cause permanent damage of some kind due to the digital speed regulation increasing torque as necessary to maintain a particular speed.

I have tested this problem at all variety of speeds and the issue persists. The difference does scale linearly with speed (aka low speed = small difference, high speed = larger difference). When I first received the locos, I sent them both in for warranty service as I didn't know which one may be at fault. The service center found some other issues, fixed them, and ultimately said there's no way to make them match speeds and that both are functioning correctly.

Has anyone else had this issue?
Do you know of a fix of any kind (without deviating from DCS)?
Am I actually SOL here with DCS? I'm open to tinkering/manual modifications to fix this issue if necessary to trick one loco into running faster or slower, either electrically or mechanically (maybe timing wheel modification?), but I figured I should consult people with far more experience than me first!

Thanks for your time!

- Chris

·
Super Modulator
20,989 Posts
That is just plain crazy!

Are both stock, or was one upgraded? Analogous question, are both PSII or PSII or ???