G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

I am new to this hobby and would appreciate some direction on how to wire a zimo sound decoder to the K-27. Below is a list of the zimo pin names and currently where I have them solderd to in my k27. I am sure these are wrong and would really appreciate it if you could let me know the correct configuration. i have already removed the dummy pc board and the capacitor on the bottom of the main circuit board. I really appreciate your help. I am kind of under pressure to get this working given my son's 2 year old birthday party is this Saturday, therefore you will have "saved the day" if you can help me out.

Best regards,
Ted

zimo card ted's k27
Right Motor connection motor +
Left Motor connection rail -
Left Power Pick-up nothing
Right Power Pick -up Rail +

Left Power pick up no connection
Right Power pick up no connection
Left motor connection no connection
Right Motor connection no connection
Positive supply for functions no connection
Front headlight Motor -
FO2 firebox light
FO6 marker light
FO4 no connection
Postive Supply for functions rear light
Rear headlight cab light
FO5 smoke
FO3 no connection
FO1 decoder
Ground chuff
Postive Supply (full track voltage for functions) no connection

·
Premium Member
1,704 Posts
Ted, here is a link to DCC and Sound installation guides from Bachmann:

dcc and sound

Select "Product Manuals" then "K-27 Manuals" then "Sound and Control Products"

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Jim. I do have these, however I really don't understand all the pin names so it doesn't really help me. (for example, I don't know the difference between "left motor pick-up" and "left motor connectin") I was hoping someone would recognize the pin names on the zimo card and then recommend which pins on the k27 circuitry to solder them too.

I do appreciate your help.

Ted

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·