G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
627 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to Garden railways (not model trains, quite handy in HO) and I plan (and have started) to hand lay the track work. Yes it will take longer, but I just like the look of wood!

One area I am not 100% sure on how I will tackle a ‘DCC friendly’ points. In HO I use a micro switch or contact on the point motor to change the frog polity. I have made a G scale point with a micro switch thrown by ground through which works great, but its not weather proof!

I plan to run small narrow gauge steam (including 0-4-0s) my gut feeling is a really should power the frogs to eliminate locos stalling on them.

How do you guys deal with this problem?

Does a weather proof micro switch exist that I could use, or is their another way?

I don’t plan to use point motors, just ground throws.

Thanks

Alan

·
Super Modulator
21,367 Posts
Alan, many of the large scale switches do not have a live frog, so you may not have any problems.

The Aristo and USAT #6 switches have an integral switch for the live frog so will work fine with manual throws.

Weatherproof microswitches do exist, but are not standard, and would be tough to retrofit... but simple for connection to a ground throw...

Regards, Greg

·
Premium Member
627 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Greg, I like doing things the hard way, and often learn the hard way

I plan to hand lay all my points, so knowing a weatherproof micro switch exists is a start. I have searched my local shops with no joy, could anyone suggest a micro switch?

Here is what my feasibility study point looks like; the ground throw and micro switch is not shown.

I have used brass rail spiked onto jarrah sleepers I cut from and actual old railway sleepers. I constructed the frog on a brass plate, for extra strength. The next will have a neater frog plate and I won’t use fish plates as a pivot.