G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Premium Member
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello DCCer's,
I own a 55ton 3-Truck Shay with sound and DCC. I searched the DCC forum but was unable to find out any information. I would like to use an Airwire receiver to operate the sounds in the Shay. Is there a wiring diagram available for this? If not, I am new to DCC and only plan on owning this locomotive with DCC/Sound at this point, what DCC system is recommended to operate this thing? I have researched Digitrax, Atlas, MRC, Bachmann and a host of others without actually knowing what I was looking for other than amperage. Any suggestions for either of these problems?
Don

· Super Modulator
22,734 Posts
If you have a "stock" unit with the Quasinami, you will have to add something that can receive 900 MHz Airwire commands. The least expensive way is to get an AirWire receiver, and then connect the dcc outputs to the quasinami, BUT, the motor needs to be connected to the Airwire, not the Quasinami, so you need to do some rewiring. I would contact Airwire about wiring. Bachmann knows nothing about the Quasinami, and SoundTraxx will not talk to you because they sold it to Bachmann with the understanding that Bachmann does all the support.

Regards, Greg

· Premium Member
691 Posts
The 3 truck Shay comes with a diagram. I find the Bachmann board to be very frustrating. I just remove the board and replace it with an AirWire receiver and a P-5. The batteries go in the water tank.

· Super Modulator
22,734 Posts
But Bill, don't wet batteries cause problems?

It all depends on the amount of work and $$ you want to invest. You could buy the AirWire receiver first, see if you can hook it up and get what you want from the Quasinami (which has nice sound), and if that does not fit the bill, then change to another sound card like the P5.