G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my very first attempt at G-Scale prototype stuff.
All the rolling stock, and power is Historical/Prototype Correct, matching clear, sharp, photo images in our Hi-Line collection.
The PIKO locomotive was a Xmas Thing, 5 colors, with only a few factory overstated/oversized details.
All custom details added are now 1:29th scale. About 80+ changes in total to both loco & tender.
The PIKO sound range system is fantastic !!!
Below is the link.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
All the rolling stock, and power is Historical/Prototype Correct, matching clear, sharp, photo images in our Hi-Line collection.
The PIKO locomotive was a Xmas Thing, 5 colors, with only a few factory overstated/oversized details.
All custom details added are now 1:29th scale. About 80+ changes in total to both loco & tender.
Below is the link.

...the PIKO Locomotive out -of-the-box, was a 2-6-0 . All the molded factory details were removed/replaced.
Brass rods /K&S metal shapes, and nice scale detail stuff from Ozark Min,
Entire front of the Loco/tender was a cut & bash job. Pony wheel removed, and the cow catcher was modified to accept
a operating Kadee #906 coupler.
Both headlights, bell, moved as well.
All the models have Kadee #906 body-mount scale couplers, Kadee/USA steel wheel sets.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Below is the link.

This is some fantastic quality stuff, Really makes the toyish looking Piko loco look like an actual model. Great work! Only thing I personally think is missing would be some injector feed lines and check valves on the boiler, and maybe some piping to the Westinghouse pump.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
... 100% your right ! Thought ???about your suggested add-on's.
However, in no-way I'm a steam guy. My knowledge on this stuff
is VERY limited. If I had an idea/image where to place this stuff... I think