G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,626 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm finally getting around to buying some of these structures. They had a sale at the MWLSTS that had 4 buildings for a good price.
Beings I'm rained off our job I started painting and assembling two of them and decided to combine them.
Not that its wrong, but I don't like buildings that all look alike.
thus I am painting mine different and weathering the roofs.
I also place screen in a couple windows for venting the heat out.
These are very easy to work with and beings I never read the instructions have gone together very well.
Photos later.

I found myself enjoying working on these and thats why I'm sharing it. these are very good beginners projetcs.

·
Premium Member
4,626 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
After one evening

Need to make a base of cement board water proffed so I can silicone it down. I also placed a 2" tall X 1/*" styrene brace under each ridge.

·
Premium Member
2,910 Posts
That's funny I just got two of their buildings, the signal tower and the VA graining. They go together very easily and look very good. We'll tart them up and set them out next month. I'd really like to get a bunch of them and start combining

They say scale is 1:24 but I have not measured

·
Premium Member
642 Posts
I bought into the same deal at the Arizona convention. Very inexpensive. They are simple to build and lend themselves readily to kit bashing. I also bought some of the store fronts to make into low relief buildings.
All in all with a little bit of work and detail you will end up with a a nice building.
Rod

·
Premium Member
4,297 Posts
Dont leave them out in a hailstorm, they are thinner plastic than Piko or Pola, anything larger than dime-size hail is likely to leave damage, golfball size hail will likely destroy them.

Be cool to watch though

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
Posted By vsmith on 10/15/2008 9:08 AM