G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,626 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yea, its me again.
After reading all of Master Burl's writings I stepped out on my own.

I'm shaing the photos but its best to read the articals in GRYs he wrote.

I had to use one of his as my masters and filled in some spots to make it easier to remove from the mold.
I broke it but later glued it.

the "pour"

The little one is a 100 ton hopper brake wheel which failed. I was tring to make them for Leons project.

I tried to pour slow to let bubbles out but I am still missing a part.

·
Registered
67 Posts
I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination so take this for what it is worth: Maybe add some "vent" holes.

When the big boys are casting alum and such they will add vent holes, small channels that lead from casting to the outside of the mold, to allow gases to escape. Don't see why the same principle wouldn't work here. I'd use some 1/16" wire to make the holes.

Bill

·
Premium Member
2,032 Posts
Bill,
Venting is the best suggestion. In addition, don't clamp like that. I prefer something lighter like rubberbands. The heavy clamps tend to distort the part. When you use the rubber bands on the backer, they distribute the pressure better. Also, you don't need a lot of pressure to keep the mold together, so don't double wrap the bands unless the mold is too thin for them to add pressure. Too much pressure will also close smaller vents.

·
Premium Member
4,626 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks
I did not have any rubber bands , will go to town tomorrow to get my "forgotten items"
my 3rd one I must have taken out too fast, its sad....
I even tried working on something else because I don't have patience. I don't like watching corn grow. hehehe
My first mold was a hard one. I'm tring two windows now. photos later.

I had to order more rubber just now. woow that stuff goes fast.

·
Premium Member
4,489 Posts