G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need some main line switches 8 so far. I there any good plans and guides to building them?
 

·
Senior JOAT
Joined
·
736 Posts
Absolutely!

Lots of neat options.
It's a great way to get switches that you can trust to work reliably. I built a number of them.


Hand Laid Gauge 1 Switches

One Way To Build A Switch

Stub Switch Turnout Template

After a few, I did cheat and bought some ready made frogs and points that helped the construction process. I just did not enjoy making my own that much.


You will also need some method to control them. I wrote an article on creating switch stands; it's in Garden Railways June 2007, but you can also see how I did it over at my own place: Switchstands
http://www.jbrr.com/html/switchstands.html
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks all for the quick responses. I think I'll get started on some today. I have a bunch of 5 foot pieces of brass track laying around from years ago that was going to be switches.
But you know the story, never got around to it.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I got up this morning and started at 5:30 and have 6 new switches started. should have them done as soon as I can get to the barn and cut up some creosoted lumber I have out there for the ties.
I'll post some pictures soon.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Today I went out and got a railroad tie -real one- and cut it in half to make ties for the switches but I'll have to wait until it drys out to cut it down to size. Darn it wad heavy and cold. But at least its in the work shop drying now.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,716 Posts
That seems a little extreme for making a 45mm turnout.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Posted By Torby on 02/03/2009 7:49 AM
That seems a little extreme for making a 45mm turnout.

Yes you are right but a switch that was put out when I build with redwood ties have quit a few rotting. For the little time I'll have sawing up the tie I thinks it wort it to spend the time up front and avoid
repairing later. And its the pattern maker in me that has to over build everything.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Posted By Hagen on 02/05/2009 1:14 AM
Just remember that stuff isn't excactly good for you


Yes I know that. I've been a wood worker all my life and have outside air resporation while sawing anything like that. In fact I ware it all the time when I work with wood now.
The workshop house ventilation to the outside too and the dust collector it outside. Keeps it pretty clean.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
627 Posts
Doug,

I am with you; I use real rail sleepers and cut down the scale size. If not I use the same timber, generally I piece I have found left outside to weather and harden. As the wood is so hard I have to pre drill with a Dremel and hit spikes in with a hammer!

I use HO planes from http://www.handlaidtrack.com/ on the left hand side click on printable track templates. I just blow the HO plans up to 45mm gauge. They are not perfect when blown up but the give a good guide to where stuff should be.
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top