G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am finally buying my first bit of outside track, my question is which should I order and where from. The Stainless has the advantage of needing little to no maintenance from what I understand but the brass is less expensive and there is move available. I also have heard that the brass looks more realistic but this is not necessary, i am not a prototypical Railroader, I just love to watch them roll. I guess I should ask, living in North East Nebraska would it be better to use Brass, and how much cleaning would it really take? Any and all advice is welcome on this mater. Also I have been doing some look around at prices and have found ridgeroadstation.com has good prices, whom else should I be looking at?

Thanks
Bill

·
Registered
71 Posts
Bill,
Each type pf material has it's merits, Brass conducts electricity better but Stainless does not need cleaning. Brass may be cheaper as well. I have a mixture of LGB and Aristo which is all Brass, and after being outside for close to 10 years, is holding up very well. Good Hunting!

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
I have brass, it's been outside for 22 years and I have had no problems, except cleaning. After 18 years I got tired of cleaning it so I when to battery. You can get a good deal on track if you wait for Aristo's buy 4 get 1 free sale.

G

·
0 Posts
Bill,