G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings and thank you in advance for any help!

I have been put in charge of a g-scale train at the local arboretum, brand new and I have no prior train knowledge. some of these forums are way over my head! Basic information is needed.

1. What is the difference between g-scale and g-gauge? how do i know which one I have? the track is about 1 and 3/4 inches wide- some of the boxcars have slightly different wheel width is there way to adjust that?

2. What is the best way to clean the actual cars? like the top of the engine and cars are dirty can there are a lot of cracks and bumps to dust between? I am thinking wet sponge? can you use soap on these guys? what about like a paint brush or something?

3. some of the boxcars are wobbly and look like they are going to tip over- is there a method of weighting them down? I was thinking pennies and one person in another forum was using rocks. any basic advice on this?

4. best way to reattach broken pieces? I was just gonna use superglue but I thought I would ask.

5. Both my engines squeak like **** and I have no idea what to do about it- I am guessing there is some sort of lubricant I can buy? would WD-40 work? any suggestions about what/when/where/how often?

6. Any regular maintenance tips or suggestions to keep these bad boys running smoothly would be much appreciated.

Please remember that I have no prior train knowledge and ANY help will be greatly appreciated! also if anyone is interested I can upload pictures of the amazing setup we have :D

·
Premium Member
5,510 Posts
I must jump in real quick here and say DO NOT use WD-40 for lubrication! EVER!

It evaporates and leaves behind a sticky residue that increases friction and it also repels oil (so you can never lubricate it again!).

·
Premium Member
4,235 Posts
Find a local club.