G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello folks. I'm relatively new to the hobby and I have a question.

I have a Bachmann Spectrum 2-6-0 Mogul that appears (to me) to be low on speed and power. The locomotive is from Bachmann's newer run and I have owned it for just over a year. I don't have much run time on it, maybe 10 minutes.

The facts. I have a temporary setup in my house with about 50 feet of LGB track. The curves are 8ft diameter. I'm running track power with an MRC Train Power 6200.

The Mogul runs slow as compared to my other locomotives on the same set up. I hooked a string of 4 USA Overton Passenger Cars to it and the locomotive just crawls, almost stalling out when it gets into the turns. I realize the Overtons have a ton of drag. They are not easy cars to pull and I could make they better with a little more grease. However, for reference, my "Annie" pulling the exact same cars on the exact same set up runs just fine. In fact, the Annie pulling the cars runs down the Mogul without a train when I put them both on for one of the runs. I have also run recently a USA GP9 pulling a string of mixed freight (maybe 10 cars) with no problems on this set up.

I have applied lube to all of the areas the Bachmann directions have indicated. While I can work to make the Overtons more locomotive friendly, I really want to know if there is something wrong with this Mogul or is there something else I should do? Any tips or ideas?

Much Appreciated
-Kris

·
Super Modulator
21,149 Posts
Sounds like the loco itself.. Go out to that corner where it almost stalls, and measure the voltage on the rails AS the loco passes by, i.e. moving, pulling the load.

Then, at the same transformer setting measure the voltage on the rails at the same spot with nothing on the track.

Greg

·
Super Moderator
4,961 Posts