G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The loss of my job it put the kibash on buying all new Kydee couplers for body mount. Need 450 sets. But I have enough Bachmann couplers to re outfit everything that doesn't have them already. So, what is your opinion of these couplers as far as duribility and dependibility? I know they won't be perfect size wise but I'm not a bolt counter anyway. If they would last a few years that would be fine to get through this period. As least while I'm going ster crazy at home until something happens I could be be reworking the trains.

·
Premium Member
1,262 Posts
They work fine, just oversized. Some of them have a tendency to open up while running. If you do a search, you will likely find a few "fixes" for that problem. I just take the offender off and replace it with another, and that usually solves the problem. I have been using them for 10 years now. I started converting to Kadee's at one point, but it is a lot of work, and just not a high priority for me.

Man, if you need 450 sets of Kadees, I hope you find a good job! (and regardless, I do hope you and everyone else here in that boat can find a job soon).

·
Premium Member
839 Posts
Doug,

I've standardized on Bachmann couplers and I like them just fine.

Best,
TJ

·
Premium Member
189 Posts
Just a note: If you are needing 450 couplers, stay away from the earliest couplers. The early couplers had a hole that went all of the way through the lift pin.
Later versions seem to go only half way. And of course the newest couples have a lot of metal. I'm a KaDee fan and have been for many years so the economic
impact is small these days.

If you are interested, a custom sent me his idea on how to body mount the Bachman coupler. I was already committed to KaDees so it was of no interest to me. But it was a pretty clever idea. If you would like it please email me. [email protected]

Barry - BBT

·
Premium Member
6,167 Posts