G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Over the years I have managed to pick up 8 J&M CIWL coaches - all of which are of the earlier heavier design with non ball bearing trucks - and my Aster C140 struggles to pull more than 4 of them.

I have read about the legendary pulling power of the Aster U1- and as I have no experience with 4 cylinder compound engines - and a number of Aster's previous 4 cylinder comounds have been converted to single stage operation - I thought I would ask the following questions of the collective wisdom here......

- How good is the design of the compounding system of the U1 and how can it's functioning be evaluated.

- How dificult is it for someone like me to do routine maintenance such as changing rod packing and cylinder rings and checking timing etc.

- How effective is the manger type meths burner - and why do some owners change it out for a conventional wick burner.

- Any other points to be aware of when buying a U1

Many thanks ....

·
Registered
514 Posts
First up, I don't have one (I would love though!) but I have an Aster Nord pacific that pulls my 6 J&M CIWL coaches and my 3 Nord coaches provided the track is not oily. In comparison my Aster PLM pacific with new pistons and Rulon piston rings only manages 5 J&M coaches and 6 on a 'good' day.
The 4 cylinder compounding on the Nord works really well and is quite powerful but you have to learn to drive it and I believe the U1 is even better so I wouldn't worry about the compounding system.
Routine maintenance can be done, but like compounds in 1:1 scale there is a lot more labour and parts removal to get at all the inside valve gear but again I wouldn't worry about that too much.
I haven't heard of problems with the standard burner but the boiler design is very good and from all accounts a prodigious steamer.