G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We brought up our version of a christmas train. We have a pretty big room with a fairly large circuit of track probably 12 X 14. We run a Aristo-craft pacific locomotive with 3 coaches. This year we brought it all up and added smoke oil and the train runs as normal. We added the 3 coaches and it blew an inline fuse from the train engineer to the track.

It appears that we only need to have this one coach on the track, not even hooked up to the engine for it to blow the fuse. I believe that eliminates to much draw from the engine to blow the fuse.

The weird thing for us is the switch for the lights is in the off position for this coach. Do we have a short somewhere in this coach?

I'm not very good with electricity so I'm not sure how to even check. I do have a multimeter I could use if I got some explanation.

I'm also out of extra fuses, so I need to run to radio shack to get more before I experiment on the track. :) Right now the train runs great, smokes, the lights on the other coaches are fine.

I do have the train engineer in PWC mode. Our power supply is the Crest CRE-55465.

Please help, not quite Christmas without the observation coach on the end of the train.

Thank you,

New Member - Bill Schickling

·
Premium Member
2,910 Posts
One or more of the wheels are installed incorrectly--that's my guess.

Turn the car over. Aristo wheels are designed so one wheel on each axle picks up power and the other doesn't. You can tell which side picks up power, because on the side that doesn't, the wheel is insulated from the axle by a plastic spacer. You need to make sure the wheels that pick up power are oriented correctly.