G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

I'm new to the train world and am concidering buying a Aristocraft 4-6-2 pacific loco. Does anyone have any thoughts on this train ??? Should I conicider something else???
I appreciate any feedback, one other thing I will be converting this to r/c battery.

Thanks

Jamie

·
Premium Member
113 Posts
The Pacific is an excellent locomotive and you will not be disappointed with its performance. It’s a strong puller, the motor block is robust, and it’s got one of the best smoke generators on the market at the price.

·
Premium Member
45 Posts
I just received one of these last week from St. Aubin's Las Vegas.  They have a few at the old price (see their Garden Railways ad on their website) in selected road names.  I have only been able to do a short test run on some track placed indoors (sort of a back-and-forth arrangement) but it does appear to be a good strong power train, response to extremely low voltage.  Because my temp track arrangement is short, I am reluctant to give it the full voltage for fear of having to dig it out of the wall, but I am looking forward to some nice weather where I can take it outdoors and give it a shot.  I run only battery power and will set up a test section to apply 12v to the track and see what it'll do in the real world.  I am planning a visit next week to the local dealer/installer for AirWire to discuss equipping this loco with their system and possibly converting my USA GP30, GP38 and a Mighty Moe from LocoLinc to AirWire.