G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My name is Jim and I am also brand new to the hobby.
I have an MRC Power G transformer but it doesn't have AC output.  What transformer is best to run the 1.8 amp AC remote control switches and accessories?  Thank you for any help !
Jim

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
What is the size description for Aristo craft track screws and where can I buy them the cheapest?

·
Super Modulator
20,525 Posts
They are so inexpensive, I would pick an online retailer you can do more business with. You can also order them directly from Aristo.

Regards, Greg

·
Premium Member
4,716 Posts
As far as your AC accessories, I'd look for an old "Malibu" low voltage lighting transformer, or maybe an old doorbell transformer. Actually, I ran mine from DC and used DPDT switches to throw the turnouts.

·
Registered
170 Posts
Track screws are advertised in the Aristo section of www.artknapptrains.com (BC) , package of 50, plus a driver. They are 2mm. Ridge Road Station (NY) has them as well, I believe. Call them if you don't turn them up on their website.

·
Premium Member
226 Posts
Also, look on the underside of your track for some red wax. That's where Aristo hides the track screws for each section of track.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thank you for your help with the screws. I'll try the web sites.
Which brand G scale transformer would you recommend that will provide both track power and the 1.8 amp AC for switch motor power?
JIm

·
Premium Member
143 Posts
Jim:

Try asking your power supply question under a new heading in the DC power forum below. You'll be more likely to get an informed and complete answer there.

Happy RRing,

Jerry

·
Premium Member
3,885 Posts
You will find that both Aristo and USA trains use the same small screws and have kits for replacements.