G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi train lovers, I figured this was a well asked question because how can you live with it, and i tried searching but since the site was updated i dont get good results in the search like i did before the swap.  Ive been lurking for about a month by the way and finally was able to register, no new members there for a while.  Anyway i want to say ive never been to a forum with such friendly and helpful people before. Im used to batteling the flames elswhere(not RR type sites). This is my first time really posting here and am anxious to get started laying track and playin with trains.

My question finally is about Aristo track. i recently bought some curved track, Aristo,8' and 10', and am using it with my USA trains straights. Whats the deal with the gaps in the ties where the Aristo track meet? Its USA style track both the USA and Aristo. the USA trains track meets nicely and you dont see any thing that stands out but they are just straight sections, i havnet seen curved USA track yet.  IS there anything to do about the gaps, it looks TERRIBLE.  Im very maticulous about realism...well to an extent. My first layout is around the living room so the biege carpet doesnt hide the gaps well and im not into pouring gravel around the living room either.  I came across the Aristo in sort of a bargain so thats why i bought it but i dont think id use it again..the USA track is very nice when compairing the 2...just my thoughts.
thanks/DesktopModules/NTForums/themes/mls/emoticons/crazy.gif

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
Welcome Cheapy,

Most of us using Aristo track have it out in the garden. Once ballasted you really do not notice the gaps. You can cut the webbing between the ties on the bottom side (a sharp utility knife will do the job) and space the ties a bit to adjust the spacing. I have never seen USA track in person so I did not know it was that different.

-Brian

·