G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,910 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been trying to make a big hauler into a 1:29 0-6-0. I have no experience and no real idea what I'm doing. So here's what I settled on as a prototype, an early PRR B6

and using parts from a big hauler, a derelict aristo Pacific, and what I think were drive rods from an lgb mogul, I've gotten this far:

I'm not aiming for exact modeling--I couldn't pull it off if I wanted to. I'm aiming for a robust looking approximation. I can see I need to lower the cylinders, and I want to bring the cab forward maybe half an inch, and make some kind of superstructure for the cab to rest on. But I'm fairly pleased so far

·
Registered
120 Posts
Not bad at all.

I'm not sure how much you wish to play with the prototype, but if I may offer one suggestion, if you wish to approximate the prototype a bit closer: Channel the cab in height through the window area. It will allow a straight footplate to fit directly up against the bottom edge of the cab and clear the top of the cylinder as well, much like the B6. It'll also close up the side windows a bit, for that matter.

-Kurt

·
Premium Member
2,910 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you kindly, I appreciate the suggestions. I'm not sure what you mean, though, by "Channel the cab in height through the window area." I though about trying to cut a big hauler cab down, but the aristo cab seemed like a better bet. Now I can see the window will be too big....

·
Registered
120 Posts
The same as chopping the roof on a car, essentially. In this case, slice the cab longitudinally, but not at the bottom or top - make the cut at the window area, and then take a second slice out. Sand as necessary to even out the cut, and glue the two halves back together.

Presto - a cab with a lower profile, and smaller windows to boot.

-Kurt

·
Premium Member
4,297 Posts