G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I enjoy working with metals, but have sadly neglected the annealing process. I solder brass and copper and am doing rivets for the harder metals. I'm not a pro or anything like that. Anyway, some questions:

1. Does annealing work for all metals incl steel and alum?

2. For a large sheet, I assume a large propane torch best; what color should the metal be and for how many seconds?

3. Would there ever be a need to re-anneal a piece of work and does this degrade the metal (repeated annealings)

4. Is there a way to reharden metals after annealing. For instance, I used a prize lineman's pliers to hold hot pieces of metal, not realizing I may have annealed the pliers.

Thanks!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Hi
Steel you can bend hot or cold . If the bend cracks when you do it then heat it too cherry red or you should be able to buy usabend steel for strip sections !
Copper you heat to dull red , quench in water , then bend and if it starts to resist the bending then heat up again . To harden tap with a hammer or time and use will harden it .

Brass needs to be a certain grade for bending but can be heated a certain amount to soften , use soap see Aluminium!
Aluminium is a difficult beast so beware . Rub soap on the area and heat up till the soap goes brown and let cool then bend . Do not over bend and repeat the anealing if you feel increased resistance during bending .If you over heat the aluminium it melts into a blob so go steady

So you see you buy metals for a specific job as there numerous different grades made all to suit different applications . If you just pick up unknown grades try them but dont be dissapointed if they dont do the required job
Brent

·
Premium Member
1,696 Posts
Posted By SE18 on 03/02/2009 8:34 AM