G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Premium Member
Getting our home built so maybe we can start playing with trains again!
263 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After speaking with Duncan and Marty last evening (scarey huh/DesktopModules/NTForums/themes/mls/emoticons/whistling.gif. the three of our minds put together/DesktopModules/NTForums/themes/mls/emoticons/blink.gif )........ I would like to pose a question.

If the opportunity presented itself, How many of you would go in on a mass purchase of aluminum rail lengths?

In all honesty it's something I've been throwing around here for a few months and since the hobby is out of our reach to expand the layout further or to the end result we are looking for...... I figure now is the time to gather some intell.

I am looking at several factors so the track could be used by battery/steam and track power users alike. I also would like to reduce the amount of expansion so folks in the SW could be comfortable using it as well. Especially since Duncan's layour seems to be suffering from disolving rail at the moment tells me there's more going on there than meets the eye./DesktopModules/NTForums/themes/mls/emoticons/whistling.gif

I don't wish to divulge too much detail for many reasons at the moment. Among them is the boards are always lurked on by those that might not want to see this happen or would like to take the idea. (Doubtful though since I'm not looking at any type of profit margine initially or in the near future. This is a "good of the hobby" effort.) another is I need to get more "ducks in a row before I Oh-fish-aly say that it's a go. Meaning there needs to be enough interest (50 or so folks) to cover the minimum that might be in place.

I would have put this in the Poll Booth but for some reason I couldn't get anything to post correctly there but this is the track forum and what better place to start.;)

Later,

Joe

·
Super Modulator
21,424 Posts