G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. I am rather new to this forum and new to the live steam hobby. I am not new to steam itself having worked on steam locomotives in one way or another over the past seven years. One of my other hobbies is drafting. I am self taught and some have said I am one of the best they have seen for my age and having never taken a lesson. I design my own railroad equipment. Many are one offs while others are based off a prototype and modified to my liking. Below is sort of a one off yet still based on a prototype. I call it a P-24. It is an outside frame 4-6-2 based on the lines of a K-28. Major differences are the removal of the #1 driver, the addition of a four wheel pilot, shorter rear truck and a four inch diam increase of the drivers. It is a dream of mine to build this very locomotive. I would like to build it in a larger scale but I figure that it will be simpiler and less expensive to build it in this scale. I can gain access to machine tooling and machinists to help me with the project but I believe I will have to rely on someone more skilled when it comes to the boiler. My question is is it a good idea for me to attempt this having never done anything like this before? Please look over the design and give me your opinion on it and your opinion of the project. Well time to go to work. Thanks in advance. Also sorry for the poor quality of the pictures.

-Eric

·
Premium Member
371 Posts
Is it a good idea? Of course not; it's completely nuts. But don't let that stop you; you will learn a lot more than you ever imagined. And probably have an lot of fun, too. And make a bunch of new friends.

Go for it!!

·
Premium Member
628 Posts