G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello-
Last year I bought a digitally printed small critter (small UK yard switcher) which will be battery powered. I have the motor and batteries and now need to select the necessary bits to control the motor (fwd/stop/rev) as well as speed control each direction. There's not much room inside the engine housing where the batteries will be located so may have to pull a small car behind to carry the controls but don't know at this point.
Anyway, I have no experience with R/C so am looking for recommendations for brands that will perform as described above. That would also include a hand-held controller which, ideally, could be recharged in a 110 VAC wall outlet.
Ok, I'm open to suggestions so let 'em roll.
Thanks-
Robin

·
Registered
147 Posts
I use one FlySky 6 channel for all my toys. Trains, electric and steam boats and a plane. In the boats and trains i use 3 channel receivers. 1 for power, 2 for rudder (boats) and 3 is electronic switch for lights. When I get a new toy I just need a receiver, ESC and battery. Down side is only 1 train at a time. Of course if you're into all the bells and whistles...

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
1. Thanks Greg, I'll check that one out. I particularly like "simple & cheap".
2. The FlySky 6 sounds like it might be overkill for what I need but I'll take a look. Thanks Exador.
3. Good question Paul. Since I don't have a clue as to what these items might cost, then I'll throw out "$200.00" for handheld transmitter and receiver/control. I might be way off base as to what these items might cost but have to start somewhere.

·
Registered
147 Posts
The FlySky 4 channel is about $45 the ESC $10 and the switch is $3. At first I used 2 - 18650 batteries but turned to the 12v and 18v Harbor Freight tool batteries. Prices have been rising on this stuff.

·
Premium Member
6,692 Posts
The FlySky 4 channel is about $45