G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!

TL;DR: The valve chest assembly tries to rotate side to side with each cylinder stroke.

I am new to the live steam community, but have been working around steam locomotives for the better part of five years. I just got an Accucraft Ruby as a Christmas gift and am having several problems with it. The locomotive was purchased as a RTR locomotive, so I was shocked at how poorly the QC was.

To preface, I am familiar with the steam up process. I have the Accucraft steam oil, 3-1 lube oil (used where appropriate), had proper amount of water, and correct fuel.

I will say that out of the box, things looks great. the first think I noted was the wheels were extremely hard to turn. I check multiple time to make sure I didn't miss something to keep them locked during shipping. Once I steamed up th locomotive, I was able to get it running and the wheel spun at warp speed just as most videos I have seen of the locomotive. However, after spending about an hour with the locomotive I could hear that something sounded off, which I assumed was the timing. It wasn't something I expected to get to that day, so I didn't worry much about it.

After the engine had been fired and got warm steam oil into the cylinders, I could move the locomotive with a bit of effort on a level surface. Thats when I noticed the running gear wanting to bind just past FDC on the fireman's side. It wasn't very tight, but tight enough that the wheels would stick for a second, then continue. I figured maybe this was something in the eccentrics to I set up my small air compressor to test the engine on air while I was going to time it.