G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,510 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry, I hate to complain, I really do.  But as a programmer myself, I know you won't know what people see unless people tell you! I have written many programs that I tested to death and thought were perfect and was proved wrong when they were released to the unwashed masses.


I posted ONE message and then checked my profile because I noted that my post indicates that it occured at around 6 AM when it was really just after midnight, "MY TIME" (CDT) (well, just after, but I don't know "exactly" when as I write this).  I wanted to see if there was a setting to adjust for UTC to correct for my time zone.  I found nothing to do so.  Is there a way?


Secondly, I noted that it says I have made 2 posts.  I am wondering if the software increments the count at the wrong time... I clicked "submit" one time before I remembered to put text in the Subject line and it (rightfully) rejected the submission.  I then set the Subject and clicked "Submit" again.  Did it count that as 2 posts?


Oh, yeah, when the first submission was rejected it took me a few seconds to realize what I had screwed up, but I saw no message explaining what I had done wrong. (It may have been there, but I was frustrated and may have missed it.)


Other than those minor annoyances, I don't see much to complain about.  Well, I guess I don't like the menu bar dropping down a menu list whenever the mouse arrow passes over it, but the old system did that and I certainly lived with it.  It is probably more a pain for the slow dial-up user as I notice the it seems to access the web each time.


 
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,510 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Never mind about the post count being wrong... MY MISTAKE... I "HAD" made two posts! (Forgot about the poll about resolutions!) Sorry!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,767 Posts
Posted By Semper Vaporo on 01/01/2008 11:44 PM


Sorry, I hate to complain, I really do.  But as a programmer myself, I know you won't know what people see unless people tell you! I have written many programs that I tested to death and thought were perfect and was proved wrong when they were released to the unwashed masses.


I posted ONE message and then checked my profile because I noted that my post indicates that it occured at around 6 AM when it was really just after midnight, "MY TIME" (CDT) (well, just after, but I don't know "exactly" when as I write this).  I wanted to see if there was a setting to adjust for UTC to correct for my time zone.  I found nothing to do so.  Is there a way?


Secondly, I noted that it says I have made 2 posts.  I am wondering if the software increments the count at the wrong time... I clicked "submit" one time before I remembered to put text in the Subject line and it (rightfully) rejected the submission.  I then set the Subject and clicked "Submit" again.  Did it count that as 2 posts?


Oh, yeah, when the first submission was rejected it took me a few seconds to realize what I had screwed up, but I saw no message explaining what I had done wrong. (It may have been there, but I was frustrated and may have missed it.)


Other than those minor annoyances, I don't see much to complain about.  Well, I guess I don't like the menu bar dropping down a menu list whenever the mouse arrow passes over it, but the old system did that and I certainly lived with it.  It is probably more a pain for the slow dial-up user as I notice the it seems to access the web each time.



 


You can adjust your time zone in your profile.  http://www.mylargescale.com/Members/GetOnboard/tabid/70/Default.aspx


 



 
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,510 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Okay, I made the change to (UTC -06:00 hours) Central Time (US & Canada) and all the times changed by about 1/2 hour farther into the future, what was originally posted at a few minutes after midnight and was listed as close to, I'm guessing was 6:13 AM is now showing as 6:43 AM.

I found how to access it through the menus at the top (Members / Get On Board), but I would never had assumed that since I am already "on board" that I should click there to make changes.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,510 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I see my first post as having occurred at 6:43 AM and your quote of it says it was at 11:44 PM (note the "PM"!). My new post was made at 2:02 AM and it shows as having occurred at 8:02 AM. I just checked my profile and the change to UTC -06:00 is still selected.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
227 Posts
UTC is OK with me.
I am currently listening to the BBC World Service and so am used to UTC.
I am also used to forum time being -2 from me(EST here in Vermont).
I'll adjust, but I do have to KNOW what time a post was done on occasion!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
281 Posts
Time zone still broken. Mine is set to MST, but everything is still labeled seven hours in the future.

I can't add a new topic, nor can I get the full-screen post/reply window to work. (Quick reply does work for me.) Both Submit and Preview are broken (the preview button is linked to "javascript:void(0);", so I'm not surprised that it doesn't work).

Shad, are you keeping a trouble log? Perhaps it would cut down on repetitive posts if you could make a topic with your bug list, so we can check to see what's been reported, what's been fixed, etc?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,767 Posts
Vance,


Try changing the time zone to something else, and then changing it back.  The server is in mountain time, as am I and I have no problems with the time. 


If I remember, you're one of the handful of people that are using Opera..  I'm not sure why Opera isn't working.  When I get time, I'll download Opera and look into it.  You might want to consider using firefox however.  It's been tested to work with the site.  It's the browser I use to view the site, so I know it works.


I did indeed set up a 'suggestion box', but it doesn't do any good if people don't read it or use it..  You can lead a horse to water but...  There will always be duplicate posts on problems.  Some people are starting to put items into it.  That is where I am tracking all bugs.  If it's not in there, I'm not working on it.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
281 Posts
Thanks, Shad. I had to close the browser and restart it, and after that the change in timezone stuck.

I'll give one of the other browsers a try with the new topic problem.

I haven't been able to find a "suggestion box" (except in this thread) nor anything that looks like "current bug list". Perhaps making it a sticky in this topic would make it easier to find?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,393 Posts
Vance


Use the Services menu, then Feedback option, then in the Make a Suggestion box click the Click here to make a suggestion link.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
281 Posts
OK, that explains it. Shad hid the Suggestion Box! I'm not surprised that few people use it. If I may make a suggestion here, a sticky topic that tells how to get there would be a Good Thing. Just take Steve's post, put it in a sticky topic labeled "How to Submit or Track Bugs and Suggestions" and lock it. You'll get more suggestions that way, and people will post fewer duplicates.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top