G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I hope this is the correct place to post this question and please forgive me if I use the wrong terms I am a total beginner to model railroading. I am looking for 3/4" scale or even better 7/8" scale trains, parts etc. I've been searching but can't seem to find anything and I'm afraid I might be using the wrong search terms. I'd need the correct track, ties, locos, cars. I'd prefer a modern diesel switcher compared to a steam engine and some log or low gondolas and I'm not looking for the narrow gauge stuff. Although I believe it's possible with this size, I don't plan on having these trains pull me or people and I'd rather have an electric motor rather than true steam.

The reason I am looking for this size is to match (or come close) to the 1:14 scale RC Semi-trucks that I build. I believe it would be fun to move real loads of coal (krum rubber), grain (bird seed), logs or containers between the trucks and trains. Right now the trucks dwarf the old Lionel toy trains I have. I think that I could scratch build some of the parts, like the body of the engine or flatbed, but I think I'd need to buy the wheel sets "bogies?" and working couplers. So does anyone know of suppliers that deal with these sizes?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Try the 7-8ths site 7-8ths.info. There are only a few suppliers with most of the modeling scratch built or kit bashed. One current thread tells of building a small internal combustion critter with a Spam can for the bonnet. It also has links to suppliers of various items.
Ozark Miniatures also has some 7-8ths detail items on their website.
Take a look. This is a modelers scale.

Bob

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
RE: 7/8" or 3/4" scale suppliers?