G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi gang,
I've been trying to view the different websites connected to www.4largescaledotcom a lot lately, but when I type the address into the address bar and the portal or main site starts loading, it kills firefox ("firefox is not answering"). The same thing happens if I try the Safari browser. I managed to get into Wayne Spence's website by googleing it, and going directly from the google hit. Once there, I tried accessing the other 4largescale member sites through Wayne's links page, but this stopped my browser again. I do not have any trouble going anywhere else on the web, so I think the problem must be with 4largescale itself. Does anybody here know what's wrong? It seems like firefox is overloaded by the website, maybe there's a virus or something over there?

Oh, and I realize 4largescale isn't really a part of MLS as such, but it's sort of affiliated, right? Some of my favorite modellers' private websites are in there, and I like to use them for inspiration, so any help with this problem would be appreciated.


Thanks,
André,

Norway
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
911 Posts
Hi Agra,


I use the Ace Explorer browser (its free & fast) as I was having trouble with the Firefox 3 browser. Using just the 4largescale.com address that leads me to the main front oage and I can go to another window with any of the links on the front page OK.

There has been a lot of complaints re Firefox, don't know about Safari, which is why I now use ace explorer.

It is also possible that the site was being updated when you tried? Then it would not work, but depending on the length of the update it would be back when done.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
All, thanks for your answers.

Dwight, I wrote www.4largescaledotcom by mistake in my forum question, have been trying with the correct http: all the time. Tried it again just now, instantly freezes firefox. BTW, I have never had any trouble with firefox other than this, ever. In fact, when I changed from microsoft internet exploder to firefox, all troubles concerning popups, spam, worms, viruses etc. disappeared, and most things got easier to do. I'm very satisfied with firefox.


I tried 4largescale at work too the other day, high-powered web service, no luck. Guess I'll have to live without the 4largescale somehow...





Thank you very much for trying to help, will see if a "computer savvy" friend of mine can take a look. I'm sure it's got nothing to do with my hardware (ref. work computer above), so we'll have to see.

Regards,
André,

Norway
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
5,711 Posts
André - don't know what to tell you. It worked fine for me when I made the last post, and it's working fine now. You might try clearing your cache. If something in there got corrupted, and it's being reloaded from there every time instead of downloading fresh stuff, that could cause your problem. That site also uses scripting (but so does MLS). Other than that, I don't know what to say. :)
 

·
Super Modulator
Joined
·
21,004 Posts
I have a pretty strong firewall... when I went to the web site, my firewall said that Java was trying to access the trusted zone as soon as the site loaded.

Does not look dangerous, but strange behavior, probably something they put on the web site to be "fancy".

1. Go to www.java.com and download and install the latest version of Java.
2. If you still have problems, try shutting your firewall off just for a test.

Works fine on latest Java and latest Firefox.

Regards, Greg
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Greg, I tried installing the latest Java on your suggestion. Makes no difference, but thanks anyway. A visit to my computer guy is up next.

Regards,
André,
Norway
 

·
Super Modulator
Joined
·
21,004 Posts
Andre, can you get to it with IE, or are you on a Mac?

It sounds as though you may have a browser hijack on your computer.


Regards, Greg
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
I can now get into individual 4largescale members' pages via google or the links pages on the individual sites, but the main page for 4largescale still causes firefox to stall completely, to the point where it must be restarted. I have no use for the starting page, though, so maybe it's ok this way. Greg, you make me a little worried with the browser hijack thing, what does that mean, and how do I find out if it's happened? (And how do I fix it if it has?) I've had no warnings from my anti-virus software, or from firefox.


Thanks,
André,
Norway
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
436 Posts
I am the author/owner of 4LargeScale.com which I created because I thought we all needed to see these superb craftsmen, and I can assure you there is nothing dangerous or nefarious ...no "cookies" or anything else unusual on the web site...however I do use java script....but the script in the home page at the website has been unchanged in many years, it has as well as all the other pages at 4LargeScale.com have been checked with Firefox (which I normally use and have for years,) IE, Mozilla, and Safari, and although are some minor browser display variations it seems to work fine with all of them...
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Thanks, Dean, it seems the problem is at my end. Yes, my reason for trying to access 4largescale is that I think of it as a wonderful source of inspiration for modelling- so many talented builders collected in one, usually easy to reach place. All this has me worried that my computer has been hijacked in some way. I'm a computer user, not an enthusiast, so I really don't know a lot about what causes trouble when I'm surfing the net or using ordinary software.

Regards,
André,

Norway
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,510 Posts
Posted By Dean Whipple on 12/09/2008 9:39 AM
I am the author/owner of 4LargeScale.com which I created because I thought we all needed to see these superb craftsmen, and I can assure you there is nothing dangerous or nefarious ...no "cookies" or anything else unusual on the web site...however I do use java script....but the script in the home page at the website has been unchanged in many years, it has as well as all the other pages at 4LargeScale.com have been checked with Firefox (which I normally use and have for years,) IE, Mozilla, and Safari, and although are some minor browser display variations it seems to work fine with all of them...


Just a comment that may be relavent... (or not)

I have a hard time with some of the advertisements that some sites run, especially some of the Google ads. They can cause my system to hang and not display the content of the page at all, or sometimes they just keep the page from completing... i.e.: I can see everything (of value to me, anyway) and all links on the page work, but there will be a blank area where I figure an ad is suppose to appear and the Explorer tab still display the animation showing the page is still "loading".

Google seems to cause my computer the most problems as they seem to want to use all the latest and greatest (and buggiest) enhancements that the internet world can invent.

Also, I, myself, caused a problem with displaying MLS on my own PC... I added an advertisers web address to my "Disallowed" list once due to what I considered a objectionable photos that kept showing up (an advertisement for what I considered a soft-porn,though popular, movie) and that kept the MLS page from appearing. I would have to "refresh" the page, sometimes several times, until that ad web address was not the one that was on the page (they are randomly selected sometimes).

If the 4LargeScale web site sells advertising space, it could be that the problem computer is balking on a particular advert address. Maybe because of an address being linked to.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,393 Posts
André

There is a program named HijackThis that you can use to check just what is running on your system, however, if you really don't know what you are doing and start removing things (i.e. deleting) you can really mess a system up very quickly
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,510 Posts
I reread this and André said he had tried it again on a different computer on a different web service. This possibly eliminates the problem with the computers themselves... is it possible that some web address (like I suggested in my previous reply) is being blocked by the country (Norway) entry point?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,393 Posts
Posted By Semper Vaporo on 12/09/2008 12:25 PM
I reread this and André said he had tried it again on a different computer on a different web service. This possibly eliminates the problem with the computers themselves... is it possible that some web address (like I suggested in my previous reply) is being blocked by the country (Norway) entry point?
Charles

Don't disagree with your assessment, with the one exception, that André has stated in one of his more recent replies that he can directly access either some or all of the various modeler's pages directly. However, encounters the FireFox hang/freeze problem when accessing the main/home page of 4Largescale, which to me points to something on the homepage that the software configuration on his system objects to.

I know that if anyone runs a clean site Dean does, additionally I've encountered no problem accessing the site with MS/IE v7.0.6001, FireFox v3.0.3, or Opera v9.62. However, since he mentions using the Safari browser I don't know if he's using an Apple computer or the windows version of the browser.

Then, since André is using two different browsers and encounters the same problem with both, it tends to lead me toward looking for something that would be common to both, firewall maybe, or some other software that is filtering the incoming data and finds something it doesn't like and stopping without any error being reported, thus leaving the browser's waiting.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
436 Posts
Posted By Semper Vaporo on 12/09/2008 12:25 PM
I reread this and André said he had tried it again on a different computer on a different web service. This possibly eliminates the problem with the computers themselves... is it possible that some web address (like I suggested in my previous reply) is being blocked by the country (Norway) entry point?


There are no banner ad's or anything else loaded from different servers or URL's on the 4LargeScale.com web pages....however on the individual web pages most of the pictures are loaded from the individuals own "1stclass" web space located at myLargeScale.com.......
 
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
Top